Sharing new technology 16 May 2019

DFI News Release

Formed in 1976 in Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA, the Deep Foundations Institute has recently established a Tunnelling and Underground Committee with eight technical groups to address specific areas of interest associated with the tunnel industry.

“The goal of each technical group is to have a team of individuals who work together to improve the industry through collaboration and the sharing of information,” said David Klug, committee co-chair, and president of David Klug and Associates.

“There is no limit to the number of people who can be in a technical group and DFI members can be in more than one group if they have multiple interests. We encourage everyone with an interest in the tunneling industry to join the DFI Tunneling and Underground Committee and become a member of a Technical Group.”

The committee will provide a professional forum to identify current industry needs and facilitate the advancement of new methods and technologies for design, construction, inspection, maintenance and operation of tunnels and underground systems. It will foster technology transfer among owners, designers, contractors, material and equipment suppliers, as well as researchers/academics and other global tunneling associations involved in the use and construction of tunnels and underground structures.

DFI Tunneling and Underground Committee Executives, Advisory Board members and chairs and co-chairs of the Technical Groups who will identify and guide the committee efforts:

DFI Tunneling and Underground Committee – Executives

  • Co-Chair - David Klug, President, David Klug and Associates
  • Co-Chair - James Morrison, Vice President, COWI North America
  • Trustee Liaison - Conrad Felice, President, C.W. Felice, LLC
  • Technical Director - Brian Fulcher, Principal and Tunnel Practice Leader, McMillen Jacobs Associates

DFI Tunneling and Underground Committee – Advisory Group

  • Colin Lawrence, P.E., Vice President, Mott MacDonald Engineers
  • Frank Arland, P.E., Partner, Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers
  • Les Bradshaw, President/Owner, Bradshaw Construction Corp.
  • Rick Lovat, P.Eng., President and Owner, Lovat Tunneling Solutions
  • Matt Swinton, Senior Vice President - Underground District, Kiewit Infrastructure Co.
  • Sanja Zlatanic, P.E., Chairman - National Tunnel Practice, HNTB
  • Steve Minassian, P.E., Senior Vice President, Parsons

DFI Tunneling and Underground Committee- Technical Groups

Mechanical Tunneling Group

  • Co-Chair - Shane Yanagisawa, Project Director, Lane Healy JV
  • Co-Chair - Richard McLane, Chief Mechanical Engineer, Traylor Bros

Conventional Tunneling Group

  • Chair - Robert Stier, Area Manager, Drill Tech

Precast Tunnel Linings Group

  • Chair - Verya Nasri, Vice President and Global Tunnel Lead, AECOM

Support of Excavation in Tunnel Construction Group

  • Co-Chair - Frank Arland, Partner, Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers
  • Co-Chair - Jan Cermak, Associate Partner, Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers

Tunnel Waterproofing Group

  • Chair - Stefan Lemke, Deputy CEO, Renesco/Marti

Shotcrete in Tunnels Group

  • Chair - Paul Madsen, Project Manager, Kiewit Infrastructure

Tunnel Construction Safety Group

  • Chair Gerry Anderson, Project Environmental & Safety Manager, Kiewit Infrastructure

Tunnel Industry Outreach, Training and Education Group

  • Chair Amanda Elioff, Vice President and National Practice Lead Tunnels, WSP Americas

DFI has more than 3,500 members worldwide.


Add your comment

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. You share in the wider tunnelling community, so please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language professional.
In case of an error submitting Feedback, copy and send the text to
Name :

Date :

Email :

Phone No :

   Security Image Refresh
Enter the security code :
No spaces, case-sensitive