ITA opens call for 2015 award nominations 1 Apr 2015

ITA-AITES News Release
Award registration opens 20 Apr 2015

The ITA Tunnelling Awards 2015 are now fully opened, with registration over nine categories now possible using the organization’s dedicated page on its website.

Also featured is a new ITA video introducing the awards, which will be hosted in a special ceremony and dinner event at the Hagerbach underground test facility in Switzerland on 19 November this year (2015).

Award Registration

Excellence in the international underground construction industry is to be recognised again this year in November and nominations are now invited.

Hosted by the International Tunnelling and Underground Space Association (ITA), the awards are designed to profile and reward special achievements in the planning, design, construction and operation of underground infrastructure projects that aim to improve the sustainability of cities and improve the lives of their inhabitants. Nominations are invited from across the globe, from the smallest and most vital of public utilities to the grandest of mega-project undertakings - all are welcome. More details and nomination forms are available on the ITA website.

Nine categories of competition are identified:

  • Outstanding Tunnelling Project of the year (up to €50 million)
  • Outstanding Tunnelling Project of the year (€50-€500 million)
  • Major Tunnelling Project of the year (over €500 million)
  • Renovation/Upgrading Project of the Year
  • Technical Innovation of the Year
  • Environmental Initiative of the Year
  • Safety Initiative of the Year
  • Innovative Use of Underground Space
  • Young Tunneller of the Year

Nominees will demonstrate outstanding achievements and those that are in line with the objective of the ITA as an international association to promote the use of underground space, advance the technologies used within the industry, encourage dedicated careers in underground development for new professionals and prepare communities of the world for effects of natural calamities as advanced through its engagement with the United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction.

Finalists in all categories will be preselected by a panel of tunnelling and underground space experts, and will present their projects and initiatives during a special one-day conference, with the winners to be announced during a dinner reception the same evening.

For the 2015 Awards event, the ITA has selected the unique underground location of the Hagerbach Test Gallery in Switzerland and the date Thursday 19 November. More details will be announced by the ITA as the nomination process and judging period progresses, and as preparations for the conference and gala dinner for 19 November 2015 develop.

The ITA is calling upon the world’s national tunnelling societies and prime industry sponsors to assist in identifying the best of the best of national examples for each category and to support preparation of the entries. ITA now has more than 70 Member Nations, 200 affiliated members, 15 prime sponsors and 50 supporters. International recognition of global excellence is the quest of the Annual ITA Awards.

Add your comment

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. You share in the wider tunnelling community, so please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language professional.
In case of an error submitting Feedback, copy and send the text to
Name :

Date :

Email :

Phone No :

   Security Image Refresh
Enter the security code :
No spaces, case-sensitive